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Initial Statement of Reasons for the Proposed Adoption of 
California Code of Regulations, Title 18, Division 2, Chapter 8.8,  

Cannabis Excise Tax Effective on and after January 1, 2023, New Sections 3800, 
Application of Chapter and Definitions, and 3820, Responsible Person Liability, 

and Amendments to Current Sections 3501, Records, 3700, Cannabis Excise 
and Cultivation Taxes, 3703, Excess Cannabis Tax, 3800, Cannabis Excise 

Tax and Cannabis Retailer Excise Tax Permit, 3805, Cannabis  
Excise Tax Credit, and 3810, Vendor Compensation 

SPECIFIC PURPOSES, PROBLEMS INTENDED TO BE ADDRESSED, NECESSITY, AND 
ANTICIPATED BENEFITS 

Current Law 

On June 30, 2022, the Legislature enacted Assembly Bill No. (AB) 195 (Stats. 2022, ch. 56). As 
relevant here, AB 195 amended the Cannabis Tax Law (CTL) (commencing with Revenue and 
Taxation Code (RTC) section 34010) to: 

• Discontinue the imposition of the cultivation tax imposed by RTC section 34012 
beginning July 1, 2022.  

• Discontinue the cannabis excise tax imposed by RTC section 34011 on purchasers of 
cannabis or cannabis products sold in this state at the rate of 15 percent of the average 
market price of any retail sale by a cannabis retailer, beginning January 1, 2023, and the 
requirement for the distributor to collect the cannabis excise tax imposed by RTC section 
34011 from the cannabis retailer on cannabis or cannabis products sold or transferred to a 
cannabis retailer on or after January 1, 2023. 

• Impose a new cannabis excise tax on purchasers of cannabis or cannabis products sold in 
this state at the rate of 15 percent of the gross receipts of any retail sale by a cannabis 
retailer, beginning January 1, 2023 (RTC, § 34011.2).  

• Require cannabis retailers to collect the new cannabis excise tax imposed by RTC section 
34011.2, beginning January 1, 2023, and report and remit it directly to the California 
Department of Tax and Fee Administration (Department). 

• Require all cannabis retailers to obtain a separate cannabis tax permit from the 
Department beginning January 1, 2023 (RTC, § 34014). 

• Allow a cannabis retailer to claim a credit for cannabis excise tax paid to a distributor on 
cannabis or cannabis products the retailer sold to a purchaser on or after January 1, 2023 
(RTC, § 34011.01). 

• Allow a licensed cannabis retailer that is approved by the Department of Cannabis 
Control (DCC) for a fee waiver to retain vendor compensation in an amount equal to 20 
percent of the cannabis excise tax after they are approved by the Department. (RTC, § 
34011.1).  
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• Make a responsible person liable for cannabis taxes they willfully fail to pay or cause to 
be paid for a corporation, partnership, limited partnership, limited liability partnership, or 
limited liability company under specified circumstances (RTC, § 34015.2). 

Cultivation Tax 

Subdivision (a) of RTC section 34012 imposed a cultivation tax on harvested cannabis that 
entered the commercial market from January 1, 2018, to June 30, 2022. Cannabis entered the 
commercial market on or before June 30, 2022, if the cannabis or cannabis products made from 
the cannabis completed and complied with both the testing and quality assurance review 
described in Business and Professions Code (BPC) section 26110 on or before June 30, 2022. 
(RTC, § 34010, subd. (m).)  

Cultivators are liable for the cultivation tax imposed under RTC section 34012 until the tax is 
paid to the state. (RTC, § 34012, subd. (h).) Distributors and manufacturers were required to 
collect the cultivation tax from a cultivator on the cultivator’s first sale or transfer of cannabis to 
a distributor or manufacturer if the sale or transfer occurred on or before June 30, 2022. (RTC, § 
34012, subds. (a)(2) & (h); Cal. Code Regs. (CCR), tit. 18, § (Regulation or Reg.) 3700, subd. 
(d).) Also, an invoice, receipt, or other document given to a cultivator by a licensed distributor or 
manufacturer is sufficient to relieve the cultivator from further liability for the cultivation tax to 
which the invoice, receipt, or other document refers. (RTC, § 34012, subd. (h).) 

Once collected, the associated cultivation tax was required to follow the cannabis and the 
cannabis products made from the cannabis it was collected on, from one licensed party to the 
next, until the cannabis and cannabis products reached the distributor that performed the quality 
assurance review described in BPC section 26110. (RTC, § 34012, subd. (h); Reg. 3700, subd. 
(d).) The associated cultivation tax was imposed under RTC section 34012 if the cannabis or 
cannabis products completed and complied with the testing and quality assurance review 
requirements described in BPC section 26110 on or before June 30, 2022. If imposed, the 
associated cultivation tax was required to be reported and paid to the Department by the 
distributor that performed the quality assurance review with their return for the period in which 
the tax was imposed. (RTC, §§ 34012, subd. (h), & 34015, subd. (a) (as amended by section 29 
of AB 195); Reg. 3700, subd. (e).) Therefore, a distributor should have already filed their last 
cultivation tax return with the Department. Also, subdivision (a) of RTC section 34012.5 
provides that the cultivation tax required to be collected by a distributor or required to be 
collected by a manufacturer, and any amount unreturned to the cultivator that is not tax but was 
collected from the cultivator under the representation by the distributor or the manufacturer that 
it was tax, constitutes a debt owed by the distributor or the manufacturer to this state. 

Cannabis Excise Tax Imposed Prior to January 1, 2023 

RTC section 34011 (as amended by section 19 of AB 195) imposed a cannabis excise tax on 
purchasers of cannabis or cannabis products sold in this state from January 1, 2018, to December 
31, 2022, at the rate of 15 percent of the average market price of any retail sale by a cannabis 
retailer. In an arm’s length transaction, the average market price was the wholesale cost of the 
cannabis or cannabis products sold or transferred to the cannabis retailer, plus a mark-up, as 
determined by the Department. (RTC, § 34010, subd. (c)(1)(A).) In a nonarm’s length 
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transaction, the average market price was the cannabis retailer’s gross receipts from the retail 
sale of the cannabis or cannabis products. (RTC, § 34010, subd. (c)(2).) 

Subdivision (b)(1) of RTC section 34011 required a distributor to collect the cannabis excise tax 
from the cannabis retailer within 90 days after the sale or transfer of cannabis or cannabis 
product to the cannabis retailer in an arm’s length transaction before January 1, 2023. It required 
a distributor to collect the cannabis excise tax from the cannabis retailer within 90 days after the 
sale or transfer of cannabis or cannabis product to the cannabis retailer in a nonarm’s length 
transaction before January 1, 2023, or at the time of retail sale by the cannabis retailer, 
whichever is earlier. A distributor was also required to report and remit the cannabis excise taxes 
it was required to collect under RTC section 34011 to the Department on or before the last day of 
the month following the period in which the distributor sold or transferred the cannabis or 
cannabis products to the cannabis retailer. (RTC, §§ 34011, subd. (b)(1) & 34015 as amended by 
section 29 of AB 195; Reg. 3700, subd. (j).) Therefore, a distributor should have already filed 
their last cannabis excise tax return, reporting their sales and transfers of cannabis and cannabis 
products to cannabis retailers, with the Department on or before January 31, 2023. Also, a 
distributor should have remitted the cannabis excise taxes on the sales and transfers reported on 
their last return by January 31, 2023, regardless of whether the taxes were collected or required 
to be collected from cannabis retailers before January 31, 2023. 

Subdivision (b)(1) of RTC section 34011 also required a cannabis retailer to collect the cannabis 
excise tax from the purchaser on their retail sales of cannabis or cannabis products before 
January 1, 2023. It also required a cannabis retailer to pay their distributor(s) the cannabis excise 
tax required to be collected on cannabis or cannabis products the distributor(s) sold or transferred 
to the cannabis retailer before January 1, 2023, regardless of whether the cannabis or cannabis 
products were sold by the retailer to a purchaser before January 1, 2023. Therefore, a cannabis 
retailer may have been required to pay cannabis excise taxes under RTC section 34011 to a 
distributor that it could not collect from a purchaser because the cannabis or cannabis products 
were not sold to a purchaser prior to January 1, 2023. However, if that is the case, a cannabis 
retailer may claim a credit for the cannabis excise tax amounts paid to the distributor, pursuant to 
RTC section 34011, on cannabis or cannabis products sold to a purchaser on or after January 1, 
2023, as discussed in more detail below. 

In addition, subdivision (a) of RTC section 34012.5 provides that the cannabis excise tax 
required to be collected by a distributor, and any amount unreturned to the cannabis retailer that 
is not tax but was collected from the cannabis retailer under the representation by the distributor 
that it was tax, constitutes a debt owed by the distributor to this state. Also, subdivision (h) of 
Regulation 3700 defines excess cannabis excise tax to mean an amount represented by a 
cannabis retailer to a customer as constituting cannabis excise tax that is computed upon an 
amount that is not taxable or is in excess of the taxable amount, and requires a cannabis retailer 
to refund excess cannabis excise tax to the customer from which it was collected or remit it to a 
distributor so it can be reported and paid to the Department.  

Finally, subdivision (i) of Regulation 3700 clarifies how the cannabis excise tax imposed by 
RTC section 34011 applied when a distributor sold or transferred cannabis or cannabis products 
to cannabis retailers with cannabis accessories. It provides that the cost of cannabis accessories is 
included in the average market price to which the cannabis excise tax applied when a distributor 
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sold or transferred cannabis or cannabis products to a cannabis retailer with cannabis accessories 
for a lump-sum charge. However, when a distributor separately stated the price of the cannabis 
or cannabis products from the cannabis accessories, the cannabis excise tax applied to the 
average market price of the cannabis or cannabis products, and not to the separately stated charge 
for the cannabis accessories. 

Cannabis Excise Tax Effective On and After January 1, 2023 

Subdivision (a)(1) of RTC section 34011.2 provides that effective on and after January 1, 2023, a 
new cannabis excise tax shall be imposed upon purchasers of cannabis or cannabis products sold 
in this state at the rate of 15 percent of the gross receipts of any retail sale by a cannabis retailer. 
Subdivision (a)(2) of RTC section 34011.2 requires the Department to adjust the rate of this 
cannabis excise tax, in consultation with the Department of Finance, for the 2025-2026 fiscal 
year and every two years thereafter. Subdivision (c) of RTC section 34011.2 requires a cannabis 
retailer to collect this cannabis excise tax from the purchaser on their retail sales on and after 
January 1, 2023, and report and remit the tax directly to the Department pursuant to RTC section 
34015 (as added by section 30 of AB 195, operative January 1, 2023). Subdivision (b) of RTC 
section 34011.2 provides that a purchaser’s liability for the cannabis excise tax is not 
extinguished until the cannabis excise tax has been paid to this state, except that an invoice, 
receipt, or other document from a cannabis retailer given to the purchaser pursuant to section 
34011.2 is sufficient to relieve the purchaser from further liability for the tax to which the 
invoice, receipt, or other document refers.  

Subdivision (a) of RTC section 34015 provides that the cannabis excise tax imposed by RTC 
section 34011.2 is due and payable to the Department quarterly and requires each cannabis 
retailer to file a return for the proceeding quarterly period with the Department on or before the 
last day of the month following each quarterly period of three months, unless otherwise 
prescribed by the Department. Also, subdivision (a) of RTC section 34012.3 provides that the 
cannabis excise tax required to be collected by a cannabis retailer, and any amount not returned 
to the purchaser that is not tax but was collected from the purchaser under the representation by 
the cannabis retailer that it was tax, constitutes debt owed by the cannabis retailer to this state. 

Transition Provisions 

Subdivision (a) of RTC section 34011.01 provides that any amount owed by a cannabis retailer 
to a distributor in connection with the collection of old cannabis excise tax owed prior to January 
1, 2023, shall be paid by the retailer to the distributor on or before April 1, 2023. However, this 
shall not be construed to require the Department to enforce this obligation. 

On and after January 1, 2023, a cannabis retailer must collect the new cannabis excise tax 
imposed by RTC section 34011.2 from purchasers on its retail sales of cannabis or cannabis 
product and remit that tax directly to the Department pursuant to RTC section 34011.2. Where a 
retailer has already paid the old cannabis excise tax on that cannabis or cannabis product to a 
distributor pursuant to RTC section 34011 prior to January 1, 2023, subdivision (b) of RTC 
section 34011.01 provides that the retailer may claim a credit on their cannabis excise tax return 
for those amounts. Also, subdivision (a) of RTC section 34014 requires all cannabis retailers to 
obtain and maintain a separate cannabis tax permit from the Department and relieves distributors 
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from the requirement to obtain and maintain a separate cannabis tax permit from the Department, 
beginning January 1, 2023. 

Fee Collection Procedures Law 

RTC section 34013 requires the Department to administer and collect the cannabis taxes imposed 
under the CTL pursuant to the Fee Collection Procedures Law (FCPL) (RTC, § 55001 et seq.). 
Also, when the Department determines that any amount, including cannabis excise tax, has been 
paid more than once, the FCPL authorizes the Department to credit the excess amount paid on 
amounts then due from the person that paid them and refund the balance if a timely claim for 
refund or credit is filed. (RTC, §§ 55221 & 55222.) 

Vendor Compensation 

Subdivision (a)(1) of RTC section 34011.1 (operative January 1, 2023) provides that until 
December 31, 2025, a licensed cannabis retailer that has received approval from the DCC for a 
fee waiver under BPC section 26249 may retain vendor compensation in an amount equal to 20 
percent of the cannabis excise tax collected by the retailer. Approval for a fee waiver under BPC 
section 26249 includes approval for a fee waiver that is contingent upon the availability of funds. 

Subdivision (a)(2) of RTC section 34011.1 provides that to apply to retain vendor compensation, 
a cannabis retailer shall complete a one-page application in a form and manner prescribed by the 
Department that sets forth the name under which they transact or intend to transact business, the 
location of their place or places of business, and any other information the Department may 
require. It also provides that the cannabis retailer shall also include with the application their 
seller’s permit number and cannabis tax permit number and a copy of their cannabis license and 
DCC approved fee waiver. An application for a permit shall be authenticated in a form or 
pursuant to methods as may be prescribed by the Department. 

Subdivision (a)(3) of RTC section 34011.1 provides that upon verification that a licensed 
cannabis retailer meets the requirements of RTC section 34011.1, the Department shall issue the 
cannabis retailer a notice approving vendor compensation. Subdivision (a)(4) of RTC section 
34011.1 provides that to maintain eligibility for vendor compensation, a licensed cannabis 
retailer shall maintain eligibility for a fee waiver under BPC section 26249 and any relevant 
implementing regulations. An approval for vendor compensation shall expire on the last day of 
the calendar quarter following notification to the Department that a cannabis retailer is no longer 
eligible for a fee waiver. If a cannabis retailer maintains eligibility for a fee waiver, an approval 
for vendor compensation shall remain valid for one year commencing on the first day of the 
calendar quarter following the date the Department issues the notice and may be renewed as 
prescribed by the Department. 

Subdivision (a)(5) of RTC section 34011.1 provides that to notify the Department of a cannabis 
retailer’s eligibility for vendor compensation under this section, the DCC shall either maintain a 
database accessible to the Department reflecting whether a cannabis retailer is eligible or has 
become ineligible for a fee waiver under BPC section 26249 and implementing regulations or 
otherwise provide information upon request of the Department for purposes of verifying a 
cannabis retailer’s eligibility under RTC section 34011.1. 
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Also, CCR, title 4, section (DCC Regulation) 15000.1 requires a separate commercial cannabis 
license for each location where a licensee engages in commercial cannabis activity. DCC 
Regulation 15014.1 implements BPC section 26249 and provides that commercial cannabis 
businesses that satisfy the requirements for a license fee waiver are only eligible for one such 
waiver from the DCC per 12-month licensure period. DCC Regulation 15014.1 also requires a 
commercial cannabis business to submit a complete application for licensure or renewal as part 
of their application for a fee waiver and provides that the DCC will only process their complete 
fee waiver request in the order in which the application or renewal for commercial cannabis 
licensure has been approved by the DCC. While the fee waiver from the DCC applies to a 12-
month licensure period, a commercial cannabis business may reapply for a fee waiver for a 
subsequent licensure period. 

In addition, DCC Regulation 15020 clarifies that the same commercial cannabis license can be 
renewed before it expires by submitting a completed license renewal form and the annual license 
fee to the DCC no later than the last business day before it expires. It clarifies that the same 
commercial cannabis license can still be renewed after it expires by submitting a completed 
license renewal form, the annual license fee, and a 50 percent late fee to the DCC within 30 
calendar days after the license expired. It clarifies that in the event a license is not renewed prior 
to its expiration date, the licensee must not sell, transfer, transport, manufacture, test, or 
distribute any commercial cannabis or cannabis products under that license until the license is 
renewed. It also clarifies that a licensee that does not submit a complete license renewal 
application, including the late fee, to the DCC within 30 calendar days after the expiration of 
their license shall forfeit their eligibility for a license renewal and be required to submit a new 
license application for a new commercial cannabis license. Also, the DCC has authority to 
revoke commercial cannabis licenses and subdivision (b) of BPC section 26055 provides that 
revocation of a commercial cannabis license issued by the DCC shall terminate the ability of the 
licensee to operate pursuant to that license within California until a new license is obtained. 

Responsible Person Liability 

Subdivision (a) of RTC section 34015.2 provides that upon the termination, dissolution, or 
abandonment of the business of a corporation, partnership, limited partnership, limited liability 
partnership, or limited liability company, any officer, member, manager, partner, or other person 
having control or supervision of, or who is charged with the responsibility for the filing of 
returns or the payment of tax for, or who is under a duty to act for the corporation, partnership, 
limited partnership, limited liability partnership, or limited liability company in complying with 
any requirement of the CTL, shall, notwithstanding any provision in the Corporations Code to 
the contrary, be personally liable for any unpaid taxes and interest and penalties on those taxes, if 
the officer, member, manager, partner, or other person willfully fails to pay or to cause to be paid 
any taxes due from the corporation, partnership, limited partnership, limited liability partnership, 
or limited liability company pursuant to the CTL. 

Subdivision (b) of RTC section 34015.2 provides that the officer, member, manager, partner, or 
other person shall be liable only for taxes that became due during the period they had the control, 
supervision, responsibility, or duty to act for the corporation, partnership, limited partnership, 
limited liability partnership, or limited liability company described in subdivision (a), plus 
interest and penalties on those taxes. 
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Subdivision (c) of RTC section 34015.2 provides that personal liability may be imposed pursuant 
to this section only if the Department can establish that the corporation, partnership, limited 
partnership, limited liability partnership, or limited liability company is required to collect the 
cannabis excise tax imposed pursuant to RTC section 34011 or 34011.2 or cultivation tax 
imposed pursuant to RTC section 34012 and that it failed to report and pay the tax. 

Subdivision (d) of RTC section 34015.2 provides that except as provided in subdivision (e), the 
sum due for the liability under this section may be collected by determination and collection in 
the manner provided in chapter 3 (commencing with section 55040) and chapter 4 (commencing 
with section 55121) of the FCPL. 

Subdivision (e) of RTC section 34015.2 provides that a notice of deficiency determination under 
this section shall be mailed within three years after the last day of the calendar month following 
the quarterly period in which the Department obtains actual knowledge, through its audit or 
compliance activities, or by written communication by the business or its representative, of the 
termination, dissolution, or abandonment of the business of the corporation, partnership, limited 
partnership, limited liability partnership, or limited liability company, or, within eight years after 
the last day of the calendar month following the quarterly period in which the corporation, 
partnership, limited partnership, limited liability partnership, or limited liability company 
business was terminated, dissolved, or abandoned, whichever period expires earlier. If a business 
or its representative files a notice of termination, dissolution, or abandonment of its business with 
a state or local agency other than the Department, this filing shall not constitute actual 
knowledge by the Department under this section. 

Subdivision (f) of RTC section 34015.2 provides that for purposes of this section, “willfully fails 
to pay or to cause to be paid” means that the failure was the result of an intentional, conscious, 
and voluntary course of action. 

Medicinal Cannabis Designated for Donation 

To provide access to medicinal cannabis patients who have difficulty accessing cannabis or 
cannabis products, BPC section 26071 allows a licensed cannabis retailer to provide free 
cannabis or cannabis products to a medicinal cannabis patient or their primary caregiver. Also, 
subdivision (h) of RTC section 34011.2 provides that this section shall not be construed to 
impose a cannabis excise tax upon medicinal cannabis, or medicinal cannabis product, donated 
for no consideration to a medicinal cannabis patient pursuant to BPC section 26071. 

In addition, BPC section 26071 and DCC Regulation 15411 require cannabis and cannabis 
products to be designated for donation by a licensee in the track and trace system before they are 
provided to a medicinal cannabis patient or their primary caregiver. DCC Regulation 15049 
requires all licensees to record the destruction of cannabis or cannabis products in the track and 
trace system, including cannabis or cannabis products designated for donation. Also, DCC’s 
website explains that licensees, including licensed cannabis retailers, cannot change the donation 
designation made by another licensee, but a licensee may change its own donation designations.1 

 
1 https://cannabis.ca.gov/2020/02/donations-of-cannabis-and-cannabis-product/.   

https://cannabis.ca.gov/2020/02/donations-of-cannabis-and-cannabis-product/


Page 8 of 24 

Trade Samples 

DCC Regulation 15041.2 defines the term “trade sample.” DCC Regulations 15041.2 through 
15041.7 establish rules for licensees to designate cannabis or cannabis products in their 
possession as a trade sample, provide trade samples to other licensees and their own employees, 
and for the consumption of trade samples pursuant to BPC section 26153.1. 

DCC Regulation 15041.4 allows a licensed cultivator, manufacturer, distributor, microbusiness, 
or cannabis retailer to designate trade samples. It allows a licensed cultivator, manufacturer, 
distributor, or microbusiness to provide trade samples to their own employees and other 
licensees, including licensed cannabis retailers. It only allows a licensed cannabis retailer to 
provide trade samples to their own employees and prohibits a licensed cannabis retailer from 
providing trade samples to other licensees or other unlicensed persons, including retail 
customers. It also prohibits a licensee, including a licensed cannabis retailer, from providing 
trade samples for any payment or consideration or to an employee as compensation, and 
prohibits an employee from selling a trade sample provided by their employer.  

DCC Regulation 15041.6 requires trade samples that are not consumed by a licensee or their 
employee to be destroyed. Also, DCC Regulation 15041.3 provides that once cannabis or 
cannabis products have been designated as a trade sample, the designation cannot be changed, 
unless the designation is changed to medicinal cannabis or cannabis products for donation by the 
licensee that originally designating the cannabis or cannabis products as a trade sample. So, a 
licensed cannabis retailer may not change the designation of trade samples provided by another 
licensee, but they can change the designation of trade samples they designated to medicinal 
cannabis or cannabis products for donation.  

In addition, subdivision (i)(1) of RTC section 34011.2 provides that this section shall not be 
construed to impose a cannabis excise tax upon cannabis or cannabis products designated as a 
trade sample pursuant to BPC section 26153.1. Subdivision (i)(2) of RTC section 34011.2 further 
provides that a person licensed under division 10 of the BPC that sells cannabis or cannabis 
products designated as a trade sample pursuant to BPC section 26153.1 shall be liable for the 
cannabis excise tax imposed by this section as if the person were a cannabis retailer at the time of 
sale. 

Emergency Cannabis Tax Regulations 

RTC section 34013 authorizes the Department to prescribe, adopt, and enforce regulations 
relating to the administration and enforcement of the CTL. Also, AB 195 amended subdivision 
(e) of RTC section 34013 to authorize the Department to prescribe, adopt, and enforce any 
emergency regulations, until January 1, 2024, as necessary to implement, administer, and enforce 
its duties under division 2 of the RTC, which includes the CTL and FCPL. Subdivision (e) also 
specifies that the emergency regulations adopted by the Department may remain in effect for two 
years from adoption. 

The Department determined that there were issues (or problems within the meaning of Gov. 
Code (GC), § 11346.2, subd. (b)) regarding the return, remittance, and collection of excess 
cannabis tax, issues regarding credits for cannabis excise tax retailers paid to distributors on 
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cannabis or cannabis products sold to purchasers on or after January 1, 2023, and issues 
regarding the CTL’s new vendor compensation provisions, including the requirement for a 
retailer to include its cannabis tax permit number on its application to retain vendor 
compensation. The Department held an interested parties meeting on October 6, 2022, to discuss 
proposed emergency regulations to address those issues. Following the interested parties 
meeting, the Department adopted new chapter 8.8 (commencing with Reg. 3800), Cannabis 
Excise Tax Effective on and after January 1, 2023, in division 2 of title 18 of the CCR (chapter 
8.8), new Regulation 3703, Excess Cannabis Tax, to be included in chapter 8.7 in division 2 of 
title 18 of the CCR (chapter 8.7), new Regulations 3800, Cannabis Excise Tax and Cannabis 
Retailer Excise Tax Permit, 3805, Cannabis Excise Tax Credit, and 3810, Vendor Compensation, 
to be included in chapter 8.8, and amendments adding subdivision (h)(6) to Regulation 3700 in 
chapter 8.7 as emergency regulations for the specific purpose of addressing the above issues (or 
problems) and implementing the CTL’s new requirements for cannabis retailers to obtain 
cannabis tax permits, as discussed further below. The emergency regulations became operative 
on January 30, 2023, and will be repealed by operation of law on January 31, 2025, unless the 
Department adopts them as permanent regulations through the regular rulemaking process in the 
Administrative Procedure Act (APA) (commencing with GC, § 11340) and submits the 
completed rulemaking file to the Office of Administrative Law (OAL) by January 30, 2025. 

Emergency Regulation 3703, Excess Cannabis Tax 

Any amount a distributor or manufacturer collected from a cultivator under the representation 
that it was cultivation tax that was computed upon an amount that was not subject to cultivation 
tax or was in excess of the amount of cultivation tax required to be collected from the cultivator 
is not tax and constitutes a debt owed to the state under RTC section 34012.5, unless it is 
returned to the cultivator that paid it. Any amount a distributor or manufacturer collected from a 
cultivator under the representation that it was cultivation tax on cannabis or cannabis used to 
make cannabis products that did not enter the commercial market on or before June 30, 2022, is 
not tax and constitutes a debt owed to the state under RTC section 34012.5, unless it is returned 
to the cultivator that paid it. Any amount a distributor collected from a cannabis retailer under 
the representation by the distributor that it was cannabis excise tax that was computed upon an 
amount that was not subject to cannabis excise tax or was in excess of the amount of cannabis 
excise tax required to be collected from the cannabis retailer represents a debt owed to the state 
under RTC section 34012.5, unless it is returned to the retailer that paid it. Additionally, any 
amount a cannabis retailer collected from a purchaser under the representation that it was 
cannabis excise tax that was computed upon an amount that was not subject to cannabis excise 
tax or was in excess of the amount of cannabis excise tax required to be collected from the 
purchaser constitutes debt owed by the cannabis retailer to this state under RTC section 34012.3, 
unless it is returned to the purchaser that paid it.  

The Department determined that there were issues (or problems) regarding the return or 
remittance of excess cultivation tax because there was no regulation clarifying RTC section 
34012.5’s provisions regarding excess cultivation tax. The Department also determined that there 
were issues (or problems) regarding the return or remittance of excess cannabis excise tax 
because the procedures for the remittance of excess cannabis excise tax in subdivision (h) of 
Regulation 3700 were outdated after the CTL was amended by AB 195 to require retailers to 
report and remit cannabis excise tax directly to the Department and no longer require distributors 
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to collect cannabis excise tax form retailers and report and remit it to the Department. Therefore, 
the Department determined that it was reasonably necessary to adopt emergency Regulation 
3703 and emergency amendments to add subdivision (h)(6) to Regulation 3700 for the specific 
purpose of addressing those issues (or problems). Emergency Regulation 3703 defines excess 
cannabis tax to include all the excess cultivation and cannabis excise described above and 
provides procedures to ensure that excess cannabis tax is refunded to the person that paid it or 
paid to the Department. Emergency Regulation 3703 supersedes the outdated excess cannabis 
excise tax provisions in subdivision (h) of Regulation 3700 and subdivision (h)(6) of Regulation 
3700 expressly clarifies that the excess cannabis excise tax provisions in subdivision (h) are 
superseded by the provisions in Regulation 3703 and no longer operative on and after January 
30, 2023.  

Emergency Regulation 3800 

Subdivision (a)(1) of RTC section 34011.2 provides that effective on and after January 1, 2023, a 
cannabis excise tax shall be imposed upon purchasers of cannabis or cannabis products sold in 
this state at a rate of 15 percent of the gross receipts of any retail sale by a cannabis retailer. 
Subdivision (c) of RTC section 34011.2 provides that the cannabis retailer shall be responsible 
for collecting the cannabis excise tax from the purchaser and remitting that tax to the 
Department. Also, subdivision (a)(2) of RTC section 34014 requires all cannabis retailers to 
obtain and maintain a separate cannabis tax permit from the Department and prohibits any person 
from engaging in business as a cannabis retailer without such a permit, beginning January 1, 
2023.  

The Department determined that there were issues (or problems) because some cannabis retailers 
might not be aware that the cannabis excise tax imposed by RTC section 34011.2 applies to their 
gross receipts from retail sales of cannabis or cannabis products on and after January 1, 2023, 
and that they were required to collect and remit the tax directly to the Department. Therefore, the 
Department determined that it was reasonably necessary to adopt subdivisions (a)(3) and (b) of 
emergency Regulation 3800 for the specific purposes of addressing the issues regarding the 
application, collection, and remittance of the cannabis excise tax imposed by RTC section 
34011.2. Subdivision (a)(3) defines “Department” and subdivision (b) clarifies that RTC section 
34011.2 imposes a cannabis excise tax on purchasers of cannabis or cannabis products sold at 
retail in this state on and after January 1, 2023, that the tax is 15 percent of the cannabis retailer’s 
gross receipts, and that the cannabis retailer is responsible for collecting the tax from the 
purchaser and remitting the tax to the Department.  

The Department also determined that there were issues (or problems) because some cannabis 
retailers may not be aware that RTC section 34014 requires cannabis retailers to obtain and 
maintain a separate cannabis tax permit from the Department to engage in business as a cannabis 
retailer on and after January 1, 2023, and there was no regulation clarifying how to obtain such a 
permit. Therefore, the Department determined that it was reasonably necessary to adopt 
subdivisions (a)(1), (2), (4), (5), and (6), (c), and (d) of emergency Regulation 3800 for the 
specific purposes of addressing those issues.  

Subdivision (a)(1) of emergency Regulation 3800 provides that “business information” means 
information the Department deems necessary to determine if a person is required to obtain a 
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cannabis retailer excise tax permit from the Department, determine if the person is required to 
remit the cannabis excise tax it collects by electronic funds transfer, assign the person a reporting 
period, and determine how to obtain access to the person’s books and records. Such information 
includes, but is not limited to, the name of the person’s business, the addresses of the person’s 
business locations, the date the person’s business started or will start, the business’s business 
activities, the business’s projected revenue, and the name and contact information of at least one 
individual the Department may contact to obtain access to the business’s books and records. 
Subdivision (a)(2) provides that “contact information” means information the Department deems 
necessary to contact and communicate with a person applying for a cannabis retailer excise tax 
permit and with that person’s authorized representative(s). Such information includes, but is not 
limited to, a current mailing address, email address, and telephone number. It provides that 
“Department” means the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration. Subdivision 
(a)(4) provides that “identifying information” means information the Department deems 
necessary to specifically identify a person applying for a cannabis retailer excise tax permit. 
Such information includes, but is not limited to, the person’s name, the person’s type (e.g., 
individual, partnership, limited liability company, corporation, etc.), and the person’s federal 
Employer Identification Number, and may also include, but is not limited to, the person’s 
driver’s license number or other government-issued identification card number or entity number 
issued by the California Secretary of State. Subdivision (a)(5) provides that “ownership 
information” means information the Department deems necessary to identify the owners of an 
entity or business. Such information may include, but is not limited to, the owners’ names and 
contact information. Subdivision (a)(6) also provides that “representative information” means 
information the Department deems necessary to verify that the individual that submitted an 
application for a cannabis retailer excise tax permit is the person applying for a cannabis retailer 
excise tax permit or is authorized to submit the application on behalf of the person applying for a 
cannabis retailer excise tax permit. Such information includes, but is not limited to, the 
individual’s name, title, and contact information.  

Subdivision (c) of emergency Regulation 3800 incorporates the requirement for a person to have 
a cannabis tax permit from the Department to engage in business as a cannabis retailer on and 
after January 1, 2023. Subdivision (d) of Emergency Regulation 3800 requires a person to 
complete and submit an application for a cannabis retailer excise tax permit through the 
Department’s online services portal via its website at www.cdtfa.ca.gov to obtain a cannabis 
retailer excise tax permit. It also clarifies that every application for a cannabis retailer excise tax 
permit shall provide the applicant’s identifying information, contact information, business 
information, ownership information, and representative information. 

Emergency Regulation 3805 

RTC section 34011.2 requires a cannabis retailer to collect the cannabis excise tax imposed by 
section 34011.2 from the purchasers on their retail sales of cannabis or cannabis products made 
on and after January 1, 2023, and remit that tax to the Department. Subdivision (a) of RTC 
section 34011.01 provides that any amount owed by a cannabis retailer to a distributor in 
connection with the collection of cannabis excise tax imposed by RTC section 34011 owed prior 
to January 1, 2023, shall be paid by the retailer to the distributor. Subdivision (b) of RTC section 
34011.01 also provides that a cannabis retailer may claim a credit on their cannabis tax return for 
cannabis excise tax paid to a distributor, pursuant to RTC section 34011, before January 1, 2023, 

http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/
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on cannabis or cannabis products the retailer sold to a purchaser on or after January 1, 2023, in a 
retail sale for which the cannabis retailer is responsible for collecting and remitting cannabis 
excise tax to the Department under RTC section 34011.2. 

In addition, for purposes of a cannabis retailer claiming a cannabis excise tax credit, the 
Department is not aware of any significant difference between cannabis excise tax a retailer paid 
to a distributor, pursuant to RTC section 34011, before or after January 1, 2023, on cannabis or 
cannabis products: 

• The distributor sold or transferred to the cannabis retailer prior to January 1, 2023; and 
• The cannabis retailer sold to a purchaser on or after January 1, 2023, in a retail sale 

subject to cannabis excise tax, pursuant to RTC section 34011.2. 

When a cannabis retailer pays cannabis excise tax to a distributor after January 1, 2023, on 
cannabis or cannabis products sold or transferred to the cannabis retailer before January 1, 2023, 
pursuant to RTC section 34011, and then remits cannabis excise tax on the retail sale of the same 
cannabis or cannabis products after January 1, 2023, pursuant to RTC section 34011.2, the FCPL 
authorizes the Department to credit the excess amount the retailer paid to the distributor against 
amounts owed by the retailer and refund the difference because the retailer paid cannabis excise 
tax twice on the same retail sale. Also, nothing indicates that the enactment of RTC section 
34011.01 was intended to limit the Department’s authority to credit or refund amounts under the 
FCPL.  

The Department determined that there was an issue (or problem) because some cannabis retailers 
might not be aware that they could claim a credit for cannabis excise tax paid to a distributor on 
cannabis or cannabis products on or after January 1, 2023, pursuant to RTC section 34011, 
against cannabis excise tax imposed on the retail sale of the cannabis or cannabis products on or 
after January 1, 2023, by RTC section 34011.2. There was an issue (or problem) because there 
was no regulation clarifying how cannabis retailers should claim a credit for cannabis excise tax 
paid to a distributor on cannabis or cannabis products, pursuant to RTC section 34011, against 
cannabis excise tax imposed on the retail sale of the cannabis or cannabis products on or after 
January 1, 2023. There was an issue (or problem) because there was no regulation clarifying 
whether a cannabis retailer could claim a refund in lieu of such a credit. There was also an issue 
(or problem) because there was no regulation clarifying the types of records a cannabis retailer 
needs to maintain to support such a credit or refund. Therefore, the Department determined that 
it was reasonably necessary to adopt emergency Regulation 3805 for the specific purpose of 
addressing those issues.  

Subdivision (a) of emergency Regulation 3805 provides that a cannabis retailer may claim a 
credit on their cannabis tax return for the cannabis excise tax amount the cannabis retailer paid to 
a distributor, pursuant to RTC section 34011, on cannabis or cannabis products the distributor 
sold or transferred to the cannabis retailer prior to January 1, 2023, and the cannabis retailer sold 
to a purchaser on or after January 1, 2023, in a retail sale subject to cannabis excise tax, pursuant 
to RTC section 34011.2. Subdivision (a) clarifies that the credit must be taken on the cannabis 
retailer’s cannabis tax return filed for the period in which the retail sale of the cannabis or 
cannabis products occurred. If the credit is not taken on the proper return, the cannabis retailer 
may file a claim for refund for the amount for which they could have claimed a timely credit. 
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Subdivision (a) also clarifies that a cannabis retailer may not claim a credit or refund for any 
amount that a distributor refunded to the cannabis retailer. Subdivision (b) of emergency 
Regulation 3805 clarifies the types of records a cannabis retailer is required to maintain to 
support a cannabis excise tax credit or refund. 

Emergency Regulation 3810 

RTC section 34011.1, operative January 1, 2023, provides that until December 31, 2025, a 
licensed cannabis retailer that has received approval from the DCC for a fee waiver under BPC 
section 26249 may retain vendor compensation in an amount equal to 20 percent of the cannabis 
excise tax. To apply to retain vendor compensation, a cannabis retailer shall complete a one-page 
application in a form and manner prescribed by the Department and include a copy of their DCC 
issued cannabis license and DCC approved fee waiver. The Department shall issue the cannabis 
retailer a notice approving the vendor compensation upon verification that the cannabis retailer 
meets the requirements of RTC section 34011.1. An approval is generally valid for one year.  

The Department determined that there were issues (or problems) because there was no regulation 
that prescribed the form and manner of the application to retain vendor compensation, clarified 
the requirements to receive approval to retain vendor compensation, clarified the periods for 
which vendor compensation may be retained, clarified the cannabis excise taxes from which 
vendor compensation may be retained, or provided procedures for reporting and claiming vendor 
compensation. Therefore, the Department proposed to adopt emergency Regulation 3810 for the 
specific purpose of addressing those issues. 

Subdivision (a) of emergency Regulation 3810 defines and clarifies the meaning of terms used in 
the regulation. It clarifies that “cannabis excise tax” means the cannabis excise tax imposed by 
RTC section 34011.2. It clarifies that “fee waiver” means a retailer license fee waiver or retailer 
license renewal fee waiver. It clarifies that a licensed cannabis retailer is a cannabis retailer that 
has obtained a retailer license pursuant to division 10 of the BPC. It also clarifies that “licensed 
retail premises” means the physical location from which commercial cannabis activities are 
authorized to be conducted under a retailer license. 

Subdivision (b) of emergency Regulation 3810 incorporates the first sentence in subdivision 
(a)(1) of RTC section 34011.1 and clarifies that a licensed cannabis retailer may retain vendor 
compensation in an amount equal to 20 percent of the cannabis excise taxes imposed on the 
cannabis retailer’s retail sales of cannabis or cannabis products authorized under their retailer 
license for one licensed retail premises if the licensed retailer has received: (1) approval from 
DCC for a fee waiver that applies to the issuance or renewal of that retailer license; and (2) a 
notice from the Department approving the licensed cannabis retailer to retain vendor 
compensation from the cannabis excise taxes imposed on their retail sale of cannabis or cannabis 
products authorized under that retailer license. The clarifications make the regulation consistent 
with DCC’s regulations, which only provide for the issuance of license fee waivers, provide that 
a licensee shall be eligible for one license fee waiver from the DCC per 12-month licensure 
period, and require a separate license for each location where a licensee engages in commercial 
cannabis activity. 
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Subdivisions (c)(1), (2), and (3) of emergency Regulation 3810 implement subdivision (a)(2) of 
RTC section 34011.1. Subdivision (c)(1) requires a licensed cannabis retailer to request approval 
to retain vendor compensation by submitting a completed Vendor Compensation Application 
through the Department’s online services portal. Subdivision (c)(2) requires a completed 
application to include the information required by subdivision (a)(2) of RTC section 34011.1, 
and clarifies that the place or places of business referred to in subdivision (a)(2) of RTC section 
34011.1 are the place or places where the licensed cannabis retailer is authorized to engage in 
retail sales of cannabis or cannabis products. In addition to the information required by statute, 
subdivision (c)(2) of the regulation requires a licensed cannabis retailer’s application to include 
their contact information and indicate the place where commercial cannabis activities are 
authorized to be conducted under the retailer license for which DCC approved the cannabis 
retailer’s fee waiver, the issuance and expiration date and number of that retailer license, and the 
date DCC approved the fee waiver to assist the Department with determining eligibility to retain 
vendor compensation. Subdivision (c)(3) requires a completed application to be submitted with 
the documents required by subdivision (a)(2) of RTC section 34011.1 and clarifies that 
subdivision (a)(2) of RTC section 34011.1 requires a cannabis retailer to submit a copy of the 
retailer license for which DCC approved the fee waiver.  

Subdivision (c)(4) of emergency Regulation 3810 implements subdivision (a)(3) of RTC section 
34011.1. It provides that the Department will notify the cannabis retailer in writing as to whether 
the cannabis retailer is approved to retain vendor compensation and if they are approved, the 
Department will also specify the quarterly periods for which they are approved to retain vendor 
compensation.  

Subdivision (d) of emergency Regulation 3810 incorporates and clarifies subdivisions (a)(4) and 
(5) of RTC section 34011.1. It provides that an approval to retain vendor compensation is 
effective on the first day of the calendar quarter commencing after the date in which the 
Department issues a notice approving a Vendor Compensation Application and is valid for that 
calendar quarter. It clarifies that an approval generally remains valid for four consecutive 
calendar quarters unless it expires earlier under subdivision (d)(3). Subdivision (d)(3) clarifies 
that an approval to retain vendor compensation expires on the last day of the calendar quarter 
commencing after the date DCC first notifies the Department that the cannabis retailer is no 
longer eligible for a fee waiver pursuant to RTC section 34011.1, unless the approval already 
expired. Subdivision (d)(4) also clarifies that a licensed cannabis retailer may not retain vendor 
compensation from the cannabis excise taxes required to be reported for any period after the date 
their approval to retain vendor compensation expires. Finally, subdivision (d) provides examples 
to illustrate the specified retention periods. The first example provides that a licensed cannabis 
retailer that is approved to retain vendor compensation during the first calendar quarter of 2023 
will be approved to retain vendor compensation for the second, third, and fourth calendar 
quarters of 2023, and first calendar quarter of 2024, unless the approval to retain vendor 
compensation expires earlier under subdivision (d)(3). The second example provides that if DCC 
notifies the Department in the first calendar quarter of 2024 that a cannabis retailer is no longer 
eligible for a fee waiver, the cannabis retailer’s approval to retain vendor compensation expires 
on the last day of the second calendar quarter, unless the approval to retain vendor compensation 
already expired under subdivision (d)(2). 
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Subdivision (e) of emergency Regulation 3810 clarifies that an approval to retain vendor 
compensation only approves a licensed cannabis retailer to retain vendor compensation from 
cannabis excise taxes imposed on their retail sales of cannabis or cannabis products authorized 
under the retailer license for which they received approval from DCC for a fee waiver. 
Subdivision (e) also clarifies that an approval to retain vendor compensation does not approve a 
licensed cannabis retailer to retain vendor compensation from cannabis excise taxes imposed on 
any other retail sales, including, but not limited to, sales made after the retailer license for which 
they received approval from DCC for a fee waiver has expired and before that license is 
renewed, or made after that retailer license is revoked, or made under any other retailer license.  

Subdivision (f) of emergency Regulation 3810 provides that a new Vendor Compensation 
Application must be submitted if the licensed cannabis retailer’s previous approval has expired 
or their retailer license for which they received approval from the DCC for a fee waiver has 
expired and not been renewed or has been revoked. Subdivision (g) of emergency Regulation 
3810 requires a licensed cannabis retailer to report the vendor compensation retained from the 
cannabis excise taxes imposed on their retail sales of cannabis or cannabis products, as a credit 
on their Cannabis Retailer Excise Tax Return for the corresponding reporting period in which the 
cannabis retailer made the retail sales of the cannabis or cannabis products. Subdivision (g) also 
provides that a cannabis retailer must file a claim for refund with the Department if the cannabis 
retailer remits any amount of cannabis excise tax to the Department that it was eligible to retain. 
Finally, subdivision (h) of emergency Regulation 3810 clarifies that a cannabis retailer shall not 
retain vendor compensation from cannabis excise taxes imposed on retail sales of cannabis or 
cannabis products made after December 31, 2025, as provided in subdivision (a)(1) of RTC 
section 34011.1. 

Subsequent Emergency Amendments to Regulation 3700 

After the adoption of the emergency amendments to Regulation 3700 discussed above, the 
Department determined that there was an issue (or problem) because some cannabis retailers 
were confused about whether subdivision (i) of Regulation 3700 applied when determining 
whether their charges for cannabis accessories, are included in their gross receipts for purposes 
of the cannabis excise tax imposed by RTC section 34011.2 on and after January 1, 2023. 
Therefore, the Department determined that it was reasonably necessary to adopt emergency 
amendments adding subdivision (i)(3) to Regulation 3700 for the specific purpose of addressing 
the issue by clarifying that subdivision (i) is inoperative on and after January 1, 2023. This is 
because subdivision (i) implements, interprets, and makes specific the old cannabis excise tax 
imposed by RTC section 34011 and that cannabis excise tax does not apply to cannabis or 
cannabis products sold in this state on or after January 1, 2023. The emergency amendments 
adding subdivision (i)(3) to Regulation 3700 became operative on December 15, 2023, and will 
be repealed by operation of law on December 16, 2025, unless the Department adopts them 
through the APA’s regular rulemaking process and submits the completed rulemaking file to 
OAL by December 15, 2025. 

Regulations 3501 and 4901 

RTC section 55302 authorizes the Department to examine a cannabis retailer’s books and 
records as it deems necessary to administer and collect cannabis taxes pursuant to the FCPL.  
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FCPL Regulation 3501, Records, currently requires a cannabis retailer to maintain and make 
available for examination, records in the manner set forth in Regulation 4901, Records.  

Also, Regulation 4901 currently requires a cannabis retailer to maintain and make available all 
records necessary to determine their correct cannabis tax liability and all records necessary for 
the proper completion of their required cannabis tax returns. It also currently provides that the 
failure to maintain and keep complete and accurate records will be considered evidence of 
negligence or intent to evade cannabis tax and may result in penalties or other appropriate 
administration action. 

Proposed Regulatory Action 

The Department is now proposing to adopt the emergency amendments adding subdivisions 
(h)(6) and (i)(3) to Regulation 3700, emergency Regulations 3703, 3800, 3805, and 3810, and 
chapter 8.8 as permanent regulations through the APA’s regular rulemaking process because the 
Department determined that their adoption is reasonably necessary for the specific purposes of 
addressing the same issues (or problems) for which they were originally adopted as emergency 
regulations, as discussed above. The Department is proposing to adopt amendments to 
Regulation 3501 and new Regulations 3800, Application of Chapter and Definitions, and 3820, 
Responsible Person Liability, through the APA’s regular rulemaking process because the 
Department determined that their adoption is reasonably necessary for the specific purposes of 
addressing the issues (or problems) discussed below. The Department is also proposing to 
renumber emergency Regulation 3800 as Regulation 3801 and adopt amendments to renumbered 
emergency Regulation 3801 and emergency Regulation 3810 through the APA’s regular 
rulemaking process because the Department determined that their adoption is reasonably 
necessary for the specific purposes of addressing the issues (or problems) discussed below. The 
Department is not proposing any amendments to the current text of the emergency amendments 
adding subdivisions (h)(6) and (i)(3) to Regulation 3700, emergency Regulations 3703 and 3805, 
or the title of chapter 8.8. 

Amendments to Regulation 3501 

RTC section 34011.2 does not impose cannabis excise tax on medicinal cannabis or medicinal 
cannabis product donated for no consideration to a medicinal cannabis patient pursuant to BPC 
section 26071, or cannabis or cannabis products designated as a trade sample pursuant to BPC 
section 26153.1. (RTC, § 34011.2, subds. (h) and (i)(1).) However, RTC section 34011.2 does 
impose cannabis excise tax on purchases of medicinal cannabis, medicinal cannabis products, 
and cannabis or cannabis products designated as trade samples in retail sales. Also, subdivision 
(i)(2) of RTC section 34011.2 expressly provides that any person licensed under division 10 of 
the BPC that sells cannabis or cannabis products designated as a trade sample pursuant to BPC 
section 26153.1 is liable for the cannabis excise tax imposed by section 34011.2 as if the person 
were a cannabis retailer at the time of sale. Therefore, a cannabis retailer needs to maintain 
records and make them available to the Department to establish that they did not make retail 
sales of any medicinal cannabis or cannabis products designated for donation and they did not 
make any sales of cannabis or cannabis products designated as trade samples, which are subject 
to cannabis excise tax.  
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The Department determined that there is an issue (or problem) because there is no regulation that 
expressly requires a cannabis retailer to maintain records to establish that they did not make 
retail sales of any medicinal cannabis or cannabis products designated for donation and they did 
not make any sales of cannabis or cannabis products designated as trade samples, and some 
cannabis retailers may not be aware that they are required to maintain such records. Therefore, 
the Department determined that it is reasonably necessary to propose to amend Regulation 3501 
for the specific purpose of addressing that issue.  

To avoid any potential future confusion over these record keeping requirements, the Department 
is proposing to add new subdivision (c) to Regulation 3501 through the APA’s regular 
rulemaking process to clarify that the records cannabis retailers are required to maintain and 
make available under Regulation 4901, include, but are not limited to, records documenting: 

• Their receipt of cannabis and cannabis products designated as trade samples pursuant to 
BPC section 26153.1 and implementing regulations, their consumption of such trade 
samples, their providing of such trade samples to their employee for that employee’s 
inspection or consumption, and the destruction of such trade samples. 

• The cannabis and cannabis products they designate as trade samples to be provided to an 
employee pursuant to BPC section 26153.1 and implementing regulations, their providing 
of such trade samples to their employee for that employee’s inspection or consumption, 
the destruction of such trade samples, and the changing of such trade samples’ 
designation to medicinal cannabis and cannabis products for donation. 

• Their receipt of medicinal cannabis and cannabis products designated for donation in the 
track and trace system, their providing of such medicinal cannabis and cannabis products 
to a medicinal cannabis patient or primary caregiver pursuant to BPC section 26071, and 
the destruction of such medicinal cannabis and cannabis products. 

• The medicinal cannabis and cannabis products they designate for donation in the track 
and trace system, their providing of such medicinal cannabis and cannabis products to a 
medicinal cannabis patient or primary caregiver pursuant to BPC section 26071, the 
destruction of such medicinal cannabis and cannabis products, and the removal of the 
donation designation from such medicinal cannabis and cannabis products.  

In addition, the Department is proposing to replace “board” with “Department” in subdivision (a) 
of Regulation 3501 to clarify that “board,” as used in RTC section 55302, means the Department 
pursuant to RTC section 20. Also, the Department is proposing to change the name of 
subdivision (b) of Regulation 3501 from “Specific Applications” to “Ballast Water Management 
Fee” because that subdivision only clarifies the record keeping requirements for that fee. 

New Regulation 3800 and Amendments to Emergency Regulations 3800 and 3810 

The Department determined that there is an issue (or problem) because some readers may be 
confused about the application of chapter 8.8. Therefore, the Department determined that it is 
reasonably necessary to propose to adopt new Regulation 3800 to be included in chapter 8.8 and 
renumber emergency Regulation 3800 as Regulation 3801 through the APA’s regular 
rulemaking process for the specific purpose of addressing that issue. Subdivision (a) of proposed 
Regulation 3800 clarifies that: 
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• Chapter 8.8 applies to the cannabis excise tax imposed by RTC section 34011.2 on and 
after January 1, 2023; and 

• Chapter 8.7 applies to the cannabis excise tax imposed by RTC section 34011 before 
January 1, 2023, the cultivation tax imposed by RTC section 34012 before July 1, 2022, 
and excess cannabis tax. 

In addition, the Department determined that there is an issue (or problem) because the terms 
“Department” and “division 10” are used in more than one regulation in chapter 8.8, but not 
defined in one place at the beginning of the chapter. Therefore, the Department determined that it 
is reasonably necessary to propose to include subdivision (b) in proposed Regulation 3800 and 
amend renumbered emergency Regulation 3801 and emergency Regulation 3810 through the 
APA’s regular rulemaking process for the specific purpose of addressing that issue. Subdivision 
(b) of proposed Regulation 3800 incorporates renumbered emergency Regulation 3801’s 
definition of “Department” and defines “division 10” to mean division 10 of the BPC. The 
amendments delete the definitions of “Department” from renumbered emergency Regulation 
3801 and emergency Regulation 3810 and shorten the reference to division 10 in emergency 
Regulation 3810 accordingly. The Department is also proposing to adopt amended renumbered 
Emergency Regulation 3801 with the additional amendments discussed below and amended 
emergency Regulation 3810 through the APA’s regular rulemaking process. 

Additional Amendments to Renumber Emergency Regulation 3801 

Subdivision (a) of RTC section 34011.2 requires the Department, in consultation with the 
Department of Finance, to adjust the cannabis excise tax rate for the 2025-26 fiscal year and 
every two years thereafter. Subdivisions (c) and (d) of RTC section 34011.2 require a cannabis 
retailer to collect the cannabis excise tax from purchasers and provide each purchaser with an 
invoice, receipt, or other document that separately states the cannabis excise tax. Also, 
subdivision (b) of RTC section 34011.2 provides that a purchaser’s liability for the cannabis 
excise tax is not extinguished until the cannabis excise tax has been paid to this state, except that 
an invoice, receipt, or other document given to the purchaser by the cannabis retailer is sufficient 
to relieve the purchaser from further liability for the tax to which the invoice, receipt, or other 
document refers. 

The Department determined that there is an issue (or problem) because subdivision (b) of 
renumbered emergency Regulation 3801 incorporates the current 15 percent rate of the cannabis 
excise tax imposed by RTC section 34011.2 and the incorporation of that rate may cause 
confusion if the rate of the cannabis excise tax imposed by RTC section 34011.2 changes every 
two years beginning with the 2025-2026 fiscal year. Therefore, the Department determined that 
it is reasonably necessary to propose to amend the second sentence in subdivision (b) of 
renumbered emergency Regulation 3801 through the APA’s regular rulemaking process for the 
specific purpose of addressing that issue. The proposed amendments clarify that the cannabis 
excise tax is 15 percent of the gross receipts from any retail sale of cannabis or cannabis products 
on and after January 1, 2023, and that the rate is subject to adjustment every two years, 
beginning with the 2025-26 fiscal year. The current cannabis excise tax rate will be available on 
the Department’s website. 
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The Department determined that there are issues (or problems) because chapter 8.8 does not 
incorporate the provisions of subdivisions (b), (c), and (d) of RTC section 34011.2 and some 
purchasers and cannabis retailers may be confused about their requirements. Therefore, the 
Department determined that it is reasonably necessary to propose to reformat the second half of 
the second sentence in subdivision (b) of renumbered emergency Regulation 3801, as the third 
sentence, and amend that sentence through the APA’s regular rulemaking process so it clarifies 
that the cannabis retailer is responsible for collecting the cannabis excise tax, providing the 
purchaser with an invoice, receipt, or other document that separately states the cannabis excise 
tax, and remitting the tax to the Department for the specific purpose of addressing those issues. 
The Department also determined that it is reasonably necessary to propose to add a new fourth 
sentence to subdivision (b) in renumbered emergency Regulation 3801 through the APA’s 
regular rulemaking process to further clarify that a purchaser’s liability for the cannabis excise 
tax is not extinguished until the cannabis excise tax has been paid to the Department, except that 
an invoice, receipt, or other document given to the purchaser by the cannabis retailer that 
separately states the cannabis excise tax is sufficient to relieve the purchaser from further 
liability for the tax to which the invoice, receipt, or other document refers, for the specific 
purpose of addressing those issues. 

Furthermore, subdivision (a) of RTC section 34014.1 authorizes the Department to suspend or 
revoke a person’s cannabis retailer excise tax permit when the person fails to comply with the 
provisions of the CTL or the Department’s regulations relating to the cannabis excise tax, or the 
cannabis retailer’s seller’s permit has been suspended or revoked under the Sales and Use Tax 
Law, or its cannabis license issued by DCC has been suspended or revoked under division 10 of 
the BPC. It also requires the Department to give a person notice and conduct a hearing before 
revoking or suspending their cannabis retailer excise tax permit. Subdivision (a)(2) of RTC 
section 34014 provides that any person required to obtain a permit who engages in business as a 
cannabis retailer without a permit or after a permit has been canceled, suspended, or revoked, 
and each officer of any corporation that so engages in business, is guilty of a misdemeanor. Also, 
Penal Code section 19 provides that a misdemeanor under subdivision (a)(2) of RTC section 
34014 is punishable by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding six months, or by fine not 
exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both because no other statute prescribes the 
punishment for that offense.  

The Department determined that there are issues (or problems) because some cannabis retailers 
may not be aware that their cannabis tax permit may be revoked pursuant to RTC section 
34014.1 and that RTC section 34014 makes it is a misdemeanor punishable as provided in Penal 
Code section 19 to engage in business as a cannabis retailer without such a permit. Therefore, the 
Department determined that it is reasonably necessary to propose to add new subdivision (e) to 
renumbered emergency Regulation 3801 through the APA’s regular rulemaking process for the 
specific purpose of addressing those issues. New subdivision (e) clarifies when a cannabis 
retailer excise tax permit may be revoked or suspended in accordance with RTC section 34014.1. 
It also clarifies that any person required to obtain a cannabis retailer excise tax permit who 
engages in business as a cannabis retailer without a permit or after a permit has been canceled, 
suspended, or revoked, and each officer of any corporation that so engages in business, is guilty 
of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding six months, or by 
fine not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both.  
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New Regulation 3820 

The Department determined that there is also an issue (or problem) because there is no regulation 
that implements and clarifies the provisions of RTC section 34015.2, which make a responsible 
person liable for unpaid cannabis excise taxes imposed by RTC section 34011.2, interest, and 
penalties owed by a corporation, partnership, limited partnership, limited liability partnership, or 
limited liability company under specified circumstances. Therefore, the Department determined 
that it is reasonably necessary to propose to adopt new Regulation 3820 through the APA’s 
regular rulemaking process for the specific purpose of addressing that issue.  

Subdivision (a) of proposed Regulation 3820 provides that any responsible person who willfully 
fails to pay or to cause to be paid any cannabis excise tax due from a corporation, partnership, 
limited partnership, limited liability partnership, or limited liability company pursuant to RTC 
section 34011.2 shall be personally liable for any unpaid taxes and interest and penalties on those 
taxes not so paid upon termination, dissolution, or abandonment of the business of the 
corporation, partnership, limited partnership, limited liability partnership, or limited liability 
company if the Department establishes that, while the person was a responsible person, the 
corporation, partnership, limited partnership, limited liability partnership, or limited liability 
company was required to collect the cannabis excise tax imposed pursuant to RTC section 
34011.2 and failed to remit such tax when due.  

Subdivision (b)(1) of proposed Regulation 3820 defines “responsible person” to mean any 
officer, member, manager, employee, director, shareholder, partner, or other person having 
control or supervision of, or who is charged with the responsibility for, the filing of returns or the 
payment of cannabis excise tax or who has a duty to act for the corporation, partnership, limited 
partnership, limited liability partnership, or limited liability company in complying with any 
requirement of the CTL. It also clarifies that the fact that the person possesses any of the 
aforementioned titles, in and of itself, is not sufficient to establish that a person is a “responsible 
person.” Subdivision (b)(2) defines “willfully fails to pay or to cause to be paid” to mean that the 
failure was the result of an intentional, conscious, and voluntary course of action” as provided in 
subdivision (f) of RTC section 34015.2. It clarifies that a failure to pay or to cause to be paid 
may be willful even though such failure was not done with a bad purpose or motive. It clarifies 
that a person has willfully failed to pay the taxes or to cause them to be paid, only when the 
Department establishes all of the following: 

• On or after the date that the taxes came due, as prescribed by RTC section 34015, the 
responsible person had actual knowledge that the taxes were due, but not being paid; 

• The responsible person had the authority to pay the taxes or to cause them to be paid on 
the date that the taxes came due, as prescribed by RTC section 34015, and when the 
responsible person had actual knowledge that the taxes were due, but not being paid; and  

• When the responsible person had actual knowledge that the taxes were due, but not being 
paid, the responsible person had the ability to pay the taxes but chose not to do so.  

It also clarifies that a responsible person who was required to obtain approval from another 
person prior to paying the taxes at issue and was unable to act on their own in making the 
decision to pay the taxes does not have the authority to pay the taxes or to cause them to be paid. 
Subdivision (b)(3) clarifies that the “termination” of the business of a corporation, partnership, 
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limited partnership, limited liability partnership, or limited liability company includes the 
discontinuance or cessation of all business activities for which the corporation, partnership, 
limited partnership, limited liability partnership, or limited liability company was required to 
hold a cannabis retailer excise tax permit. 

Subdivision (c) of proposed Regulation 3820 incorporates the collection provisions from 
subdivisions (d) and (e) of RTC section 34015.2. Subdivision (d) of proposed Regulation 3820 
clarifies that the Department has the burden to prove that the requirements for personal liability 
have been satisfied under the preponderance of the evidence standard of proof. 

Discussion Paper and Interested Parties Meeting 

On October 26, 2023, the Department distributed a discussion paper with the amendments to 
Regulation 3501, the emergency amendments adding subdivisions (h)(6) to Regulation 3700, 
emergency Regulation 3703, new Regulation 3800, amended renumbered emergency Regulation 
3801, emergency Regulation 3805, amended emergency Regulation 3810, and new Regulation 
3820. On November 16, 2023, the Department held an interested parties meeting to obtain public 
input.  

The Department received a letter dated November 30, 2023, from Jonatan Cvetko, Executive 
Director for the United Cannabis Business Association (UCBA). In the letter, the UCBA 
requested that the Department revise new Regulation 3820 to close a loophole and ensure that an 
entity which enters into a management agreement with a cannabis licensee and the owners of the 
entity will be held personally liable for any taxes incurred under the entity’s management of the 
cannabis licensee’s business in circumstances where the entity would not have the statutorily 
required control or supervision of, or the responsibility for the filing of returns or the payment of 
tax for the cannabis licensee. However, the Department did not include the requested revisions in 
new Regulation 3820 because the Department determined that they were inconsistent with RTC 
section 34015.2. The Department did not receive any other comments regarding the amendments 
to Regulation 3501, the emergency amendments adding subdivisions (h)(6) to Regulation 3700, 
emergency Regulation 3703, new Regulation 3800, amended renumbered emergency Regulation 
3801, emergency Regulation 3805, amended emergency Regulation 3810, and new Regulation 
3820. 

Determinations 

The Department has determined that the adoption of the amendments to Regulation 3501, the 
emergency amendments adding subdivisions (h)(6) and (i)(3) to Regulation 3700, emergency 
Regulation 3703, chapter 8.8, new Regulation 3800, amended renumbered emergency 
Regulation 3801, emergency Regulation 3805, amended emergency Regulation 3810, and new 
Regulation 3820 through the APA’s regular rulemaking process is reasonably necessary for the 
specific purposes of addressing all the issues (or problems) discussed above. The Department 
anticipates that their adoption will promote fairness and benefit cultivators, manufacturers, 
distributors, cannabis retailers, purchasers, and the Department by:  

• Clarifying cannabis retailers’ record keeping requirements; 
• Clarifying the application of subdivisions (h) and (i) of Regulation 3700; 
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• Prescribing updated procedures for excess cannabis tax to be returned, remitted, or 
collected; 

• Clarifying the application of chapter 8.8; 
• Clarifying the requirements for a cannabis retailer to register with the Department for a 

cannabis retailer excise tax permit, clarifying that cannabis retailers are responsible for 
collecting, reporting, and remitting the cannabis excise tax imposed by RTC section 
34011.2 and providing an invoice, receipts, or similar document to the purchaser that will 
relieve the purchaser of liability for the tax to which the invoice, receipt, or similar 
document refers, clarifying that a cannabis retailer excise tax permit may be revoked or 
suspended under specified circumstances, and clarifying that it is a misdemeanor to 
engage in business as a cannabis retailer without such a permit or after such a permit has 
been canceled, suspended, or revoked; 

• Clarifying when a cannabis retailer may claim a credit for cannabis excise tax paid to a 
distributor, under RTC section 34011, on cannabis or cannabis products sold to 
purchasers on or after January 1, 2023, clarifying that a cannabis retailer may file a claim 
for refund for the amount of the credit if not claimed on the proper return, and clarifying 
the documentation that must be retained to substantiate a credit or refund; 

• Clarifying the cannabis excise taxes from which vendor compensation may be retained 
under RTC section 34011.1, clarifying the type of fee waiver a licensed cannabis retailer 
must receive to be approved to retain vendor compensation, prescribing the form and 
manner of filing the application for approval to retain vendor compensation, clarifying 
the statutory retention periods, clarifying how vendor compensation shall be reported on 
a return, and clarifying that a licensed cannabis retailer must file a claim for refund if 
they remit taxes they were eligible to retain; and 

• Clarifying the provisions of RTC section 34015.2, which make a responsible person 
liable for unpaid cannabis excise taxes imposed by RTC section 34011.2 under specified 
circumstances. 

In addition, the Department has determined that the adoption of the proposed regulatory action is 
not mandated by federal law or regulations, and there are no federal regulations or statutes that 
are identical to the amendments to Regulation 3501, the emergency amendments adding 
subdivisions (h)(6) and (i)(3) to Regulation 3700, emergency Regulation 3703, chapter 8.8, new 
Regulation 3800, amended renumbered emergency Regulation 3801, emergency Regulation 
3805, amended emergency Regulation 3810, and new Regulation 3820.   

DOCUMENTS RELIED UPON 

The Department relied upon Department staff’s understanding of division 10 of the BPC, as 
implemented, interpreted, and made specific by the DCC regulations discussed above, RTC 
section 20, and the CTL and FCPL in proposing to adopt the amendments to Regulation 3501, 
the emergency amendments adding subdivisions (h)(6) and (i)(3) to Regulation 3700, emergency 
Regulation 3703, chapter 8.8, new Regulation 3800, amended renumbered emergency 
Regulation 3801, emergency Regulation 3805, amended emergency Regulation 3810, and new 
Regulation 3820 through the APA’s regular rulemaking process. The Department did not rely 
upon any technical, theoretical, or empirical study, report, or similar document. 
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ALTERNATIVES CONSIDERED 

The Department considered whether to begin the APA’s regular rulemaking process to adopt the 
amendments to Regulation 3501, the emergency amendments adding subdivisions (h)(6) and 
(i)(3) to Regulation 3700, emergency Regulation 3703, chapter 8.8, new Regulation 3800, 
amended renumbered emergency Regulation 3801, emergency Regulation 3805, amended 
emergency Regulation 3810, and new Regulation 3820 through the APA’s regular rulemaking 
process at this time or, alternatively, whether to take no action at this time. The Department 
decided to begin the regular rulemaking process to adopt the amendments to Regulation 3501, 
the emergency amendments adding subdivisions (h)(6) and (i)(3) to Regulation 3700, emergency 
Regulation 3703, chapter 8.8, new Regulation 3800, amended renumbered emergency 
Regulation 3801, emergency Regulation 3805, amended emergency Regulation 3810, and new 
Regulation 3820 through the APA’s regular rulemaking process because the Department 
determined that they are reasonably necessary for the reasons set forth above.  

The Department did not reject any reasonable alternative to the amendments to Regulation 3501, 
the emergency amendments adding subdivisions (h)(6) and (i)(3) to Regulation 3700, emergency 
Regulation 3703, chapter 8.8, new Regulation 3800, amended renumbered emergency 
Regulation 3801, emergency Regulation 3805, amended emergency Regulation 3810, and new 
Regulation 3820, including any reasonable alternative that would lessen any adverse impact the 
proposed action may have on small business or that would be less burdensome and equally 
effective in achieving the purposes of the proposed action. No reasonable alternative has been 
identified and brought to the Department’s attention that would lessen any adverse impact the 
proposed action may have on small business, be more effective in carrying out the purposes for 
which the action is proposed, would be as effective and less burdensome to affected private 
persons than the proposed action, or would be more cost effective to affected private persons and 
equally effective in implementing the statutory policy or other provision of law than the 
proposed action. 

INFORMATION REQUIRED BY GC SECTION 11346.2, SUBDIVISION (b)(5) AND 
ECONOMIC IMPACT ASSESSMENT REQUIRED BY GC SECTION 11346.3, 
SUBDIVISION (b) 

The Department assessed the economic impact of adopting the proposed regulatory action on 
California businesses and individuals, which includes the adoption of the amendments to 
Regulation 3501, the emergency amendments adding subdivisions (h)(6) and (i)(3) to Regulation 
3700, emergency Regulation 3703, chapter 8.8, new Regulation 3800, amended renumbered 
emergency Regulation 3801, emergency Regulation 3805, amended emergency Regulation 3810, 
and new Regulation 3820 through the APA’s regular rulemaking process. The Department 
determined that the proposed regulatory action implements and clarifies the provisions of the 
CTL and FCPL, and that businesses and individuals will not incur any additional costs to comply 
with the amendments and new regulations that they would not otherwise incur to comply with 
the CTL and FCPL. The Department also determined that cultivators, manufacturers, 
distributors, cannabis retailers, and purchasers will generally benefit from the clarifications 
provided by the proposed regulatory action, but they will not receive a monetary benefit.   
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As a result, the Department determined that the proposed regulatory action is not a major 
regulation, as defined in GC section 11342.548 and CCR, title 1, section 2000. The Department 
also prepared the economic impact assessment required by GC section 11346.3, subdivision 
(b)(1), and the Department determined in the economic impact assessment that the adoption of 
the proposed regulatory action will neither create nor eliminate jobs in the State of California nor 
result in the creation of new businesses or the elimination of existing businesses within the State 
of California and will not affect the expansion of businesses currently doing business within the 
State of California.   

Furthermore, the amendments to Regulations 3501 and 3700, emergency Regulation 3703, 
chapter 8.8, new Regulation 3800, amended renumbered emergency Regulation 3801, 
emergency Regulation 3805, amended emergency Regulation 3810, and new Regulation 3820 do 
not regulate the health and welfare of California residents, worker safety, or the state’s 
environment. Therefore, the Department determined that the adoption of the proposed regulatory 
action will not affect the benefits of the regulations to the health and welfare of California 
residents, worker safety, or the state’s environment. 

The forgoing information also provides the factual basis for the Department’s initial 
determination that the adoption of the proposed regulatory action will not have a significant 
adverse economic impact on business.  
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